Marge croisée ou marge isolée

Tradez sur la plateforme la plus conviviale sans commissions cachées.

Qu'est-ce que la marge dans le trading de crypto et comment est-elle associée à l'effet de levier ?

Lorsque l'on trade avec un effet de levier, le terme « Marge » fait référence au montant du capital requis pour ouvrir une position avec effet de levier. La marge initiale désigne le montant minimum de marge requis pour ouvrir une position à effet de levier, tandis que la marge de maintenance désigne le montant requis pour empêcher la liquidation d'une position.

Les traders de cryptomonnaies utilisent différentes stratégies lorsqu'ils tradent avec une marge - Margex fournit aux traders deux méthodes de mise en marge qui offrent différents avantages et inconvénients :

La marge isolée limite la marge d'une position à un pool de marge dédié défini par le trader. Si la marge tombe en dessous du niveau de marge de maintenance requis pour maintenir une position ouverte, la position sera liquidée.

La marge croisée partage la marge entre toutes les positions ouvertes qui utilisent le même actif de règlement. Si une position nécessite plus de marge, celle-ci sera prélevée sur le solde total de l'actif concerné pour éviter toute liquidation.

Comprendre comment chacune de ces méthodes de marge fonctionne et comment elles diffèrent les unes des autres peut aider les traders à empêcher la liquidation des positions ouvertes et promouvoir une utilisation plus efficace du capital de trading.

Comment l'effet de levier modifie-t-il les bénéfices obtenus dans le cadre du trading sur marge croisée ?

1%
Changement de prix*
3%
Changement de prix*
5%
Changement de prix*
10%
Changement de prix*
20%
Changement de prix*
Profit with leverage
Profit without leverage

Se lancer dans les marchés des cryptomonnaies

Margex est une plateforme de trading de produits dérivés basée sur le bitcoin et offre aux traders la possibilité de trader avec un effet de levier allant jusqu'à 100x sur plusieurs marchés crypto mondiaux. Avec une interface très conviviale et des fonctionnalités de trading de premier ordre, Margex est classée comme l'une des meilleures plateformes de trading sur marge en crypto en ligne par Finance Magnates.

Une facilité d'utilisation sous toutes ses formes

Margex propose des fonctions de trading simplifiées et faciles à comprendre qui s'adressent aussi bien aux traders débutants qu'aux experts, avec des outils graphiques performants et des structures de frais transparentes et clairement définies. Le trading sur Margex offre aux traders un haut degré de visibilité, ainsi que des outils de ROE qui donnent une indication de la rentabilité de tous les trades.

Tout en un clin d'œil

Margex met l'accent sur la transparence et sur des analyses clairement définies : tous les indicateurs de transaction, tels que les frais de trading, le financement et les G et P, sont affichés à l'écran en temps réel pour toutes les positions. Il est important de noter qu'il est possible de modifier la marge sur les trades ouverts sur Margex, et de profiter d'outils simultanés de stop loss et de take profit sur chaque trade.

Marge croisée et isolée en un seul compte

Contrairement aux autres plateformes de trading qui vous obligent à ouvrir des comptes séparés pour les différentes méthodes de marge et de garantie utilisées lors des trades, Margex règle le problème de différence entre marge croisée et marge isolée en permettant aux utilisateurs de la plateforme d'utiliser les deux méthodes sur un seul compte, à partir d'un seul terminal de trading, ce qui est pratique au moment de trader.

Systèmes multilatéraux activés

Parmi les options de garantie disponibles sur Margex figurent le BTC, l'USDT et l'ETH, ainsi que l'USDC, le DAI, l'USDDP, le Tron et le WBTC. Il est possible de trader n'importe quelle paire sur Margex avec n'importe quelle garantie, supprimant ainsi le besoin d'échanger des actifs. Enfin, la technologie MP Shield unique de Margex s'appuie sur une intelligence artificielle avancée pour protéger les utilisateurs contre la manipulation des prix et empêcher toute liquidation injuste.

Pourquoi Margex

alt
alt

Qu'est-ce que la marge croisée ?

La marge croisée, parfois appelée « marge sur écart », partage le solde disponible d'un actif entre toutes les positions ouvertes à effet de levier concernées dans le compte d'un trader. Les fonds disponibles dans le solde disponible d'un trader sont utilisés pour éviter la liquidation des positions ouvertes avec le même actif de règlement. Dans le cadre de la marge croisée, un compte est suffisamment couvert si les exigences de marge de maintenance collective de toutes les positions ouvertes sont inférieures au solde disponible.

alt

Exemple de marge croisée

Un trader qui possède 0,1 BTC peut choisir d'ouvrir une position long (achat) de marge croisée sur la paire BTC/USD au prix de 10 000 $/BTC, pour 1 BTC. La marge initiale requise pour cette position est calculée en utilisant l'effet de levier maximum autorisé pour la paire de trading utilisant la marge croisée, ce qui place la marge initiale requise à 1% de 1 BTC. Le trader devra donc placer 0,01 BTC en marge initiale afin d'ouvrir la position. Si le prix du bitcoin diminue, la marge initiale du trader diminuera également. Une position avec marge croisée utilisera le solde total du trader - dans ce cas, 0,1 BTC - comme marge supplémentaire. Cette pratique permet aux traders d'utiliser la totalité de leurs fonds disponibles pour éviter la liquidation.

Avantages et inconvénients de la marge croisée

Avantages de la marge croisée :Inconvénients de la marge croisée :
La marge croisée peut être utilisée pour compenser les pertes non réalisées par des gains non réalisés, minimisant ainsi la probabilité de liquidation de la position.
La marge croisée expose la totalité du solde disponible d'un trader à un risque car, si le marché évolue de manière défavorable et si le prix du marché d'un actif dépasse le seuil de liquidation, le trader risque de perdre la totalité de son solde.
La marge croisée réduit la probabilité globale de liquidation en adoptant une approche holistique de la marge.
La marge croisée permet aux traders d'avoir moins de contrôle sur des positions spécifiques.
La marge croisée est utile pour les traders qui cherchent à couvrir des positions existantes.
Les traders qui cherchent à gérer une position sur une base individuelle peuvent utiliser la marge isolée pour obtenir un plus grand degré de contrôle.
Avantages de la marge croisée :
La marge croisée peut être utilisée pour compenser les pertes non réalisées par des gains non réalisés, minimisant ainsi la probabilité de liquidation de la position.
La marge croisée réduit la probabilité globale de liquidation en adoptant une approche holistique de la marge.
La marge croisée est utile pour les traders qui cherchent à couvrir des positions existantes.
Inconvénients de la marge croisée :
La marge croisée expose la totalité du solde disponible d'un trader à un risque car, si le marché évolue de manière défavorable et si le prix du marché d'un actif dépasse le seuil de liquidation, le trader risque de perdre la totalité de son solde.
La marge croisée permet aux traders d'avoir moins de contrôle sur des positions spécifiques.
Les traders qui cherchent à gérer une position sur une base individuelle peuvent utiliser la marge isolée pour obtenir un plus grand degré de contrôle.

Trader avec une marge croisée sur Margex

1

Ouvrez un compte de trading Margex

Allez sur Margex.com et cliquez sur « Commencer à trader », puis saisissez vos informations personnelles sur la page d'inscription.
2

Confirmez votre adresse e-mail

Un e-mail de confirmation vous sera envoyé. Une fois que vous aurez confirmé votre adresse e-mail avec succès, vous pourrez vous connecter à votre compte.
3

Approvisionnez votre compte de trading

Allez dans la section « Portefeuille » de votre compte et approvisionnez-le en utilisant votre méthode de dépôt préférée, comme les cryptomonnaies ou les dépôts directs par carte de crédit.
4

Tradez avec une marge croisée

Allez dans la section « Trader », sélectionnez la paire que vous allez trader dans la liste au-dessus du graphique et une fois que vous avez saisi le montant de votre ordre dans la fenêtre de soumission de l'ordre, cliquez sur le curseur de l'effet de levier et faites-le glisser vers la gauche là où est indiquée la marge croisée, ou utilisez simplement le bouton qui affiche la marge croisée. Une fois que votre ordre est exécuté, suivez la marge disponible pour toutes vos transactions ouvertes qui utilisent la marge croisée en vous servant du champ « Positions ouvertes » situé sous les graphiques de trading.

Qu'est-ce que la marge isolée ?

La marge isolée permet de dédier une marge de manière individuelle à chaque position ouverte. Un trader qui ouvre une position avec une marge isolée doit allouer un montant spécifique de marge, égal ou supérieur à la marge initiale requise pour ouvrir la position. Dans le cadre de la marge isolée, la marge allouée par un trader pour ouvrir une position est appelée Marge de position. Les gains ou les pertes générés par une position ouverte avec une marge isolée n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autres positions ouvertes. La marge isolée restreint la responsabilité d'une position ouverte à la marge initiale définie par le trader. À la différence de la marge croisée, le solde disponible d'un trader n'est pas utilisé pour équilibrer la marge d'une position ouverte.

alt

Exemple de marge isolée

Un trader peut choisir d'ouvrir une position longue BTC/USD avec un prix BTC de 10 000 $. Le solde total détenu sur Margex par le trader est de 0,01 BTC. Il ouvre donc une position BTC/USD avec une marge isolée pour 1 BTC et un effet de levier de 100x. La marge initiale requise pour ouvrir la transaction doit être staké afin d'ouvrir la position, mais contrairement à la marge croisée, le trader définit le solde de la marge qu'il souhaite attribuer à la position en augmentant ou en diminuant l'effet de levier utilisé dans la transaction. Si le prix du bitcoin baisse jusqu'à une valeur permettant de liquider la position, celle-ci sera automatiquement liquidée, car une position de marge isolée ne prélève pas plus de fonds sur le solde total du trader afin de maintenir à flot les exigences de marge de la position. Dans ce cas, le trader doit gérer le montant de la marge affectée à une position ouverte mais ne peut risquer que la marge initiale affectée lors de l'ouverture de la position, et non la totalité du solde de son compte.

Avantages et inconvénients de la marge isolée

Avantages de la marge isolée :Inconvénients de la marge isolée :
La marge isolée permet aux traders de mieux contrôler les positions individuelles et est adaptée aux transactions spéculatives ouvertes avec un effet de levier élevé.
Si des pertes non réalisées réduisent la marge d'une position isolée, la position sera liquidée quel que soit le solde total du compte du trader.
Bien que les positions de marge isolée exposent les traders à un risque de liquidation plus élevé, seule la marge de la position définie par le trader est exposée à des risques, et non le solde total du compte du trader.
Les positions de marge isolée exposent les traders à un risque de liquidation plus élevé.
Le montant de la marge isolée pour une position ouverte peut être géré - un trader peut empêcher la liquidation en allouant une marge supplémentaire.
Les positions de marge isolée doivent être gérées avec précaution.
Avantages de la marge isolée :
La marge isolée permet aux traders de mieux contrôler les positions individuelles et est adaptée aux transactions spéculatives ouvertes avec un effet de levier élevé.
Bien que les positions de marge isolée exposent les traders à un risque de liquidation plus élevé, seule la marge de la position définie par le trader est exposée à des risques, et non le solde total du compte du trader.
Le montant de la marge isolée pour une position ouverte peut être géré - un trader peut empêcher la liquidation en allouant une marge supplémentaire.
Inconvénients de la marge isolée :
Si des pertes non réalisées réduisent la marge d'une position isolée, la position sera liquidée quel que soit le solde total du compte du trader.
Les positions de marge isolée exposent les traders à un risque de liquidation plus élevé.
Les positions de marge isolée doivent être gérées avec précaution.

Trader avec une marge isolée sur Margex

Pour ouvrir un trade en utilisant une marge isolée, vous devez vous rendre sur votre compte de trading Margex, sélectionner la paire que vous allez trader, accéder au curseur de l'effet de levier et le faire glisser pour sélectionner l'effet de levier désiré. Vous pouvez également utiliser le petit stylo à côté du curseur pour saisir manuellement la marge que vous voulez appliquer au trade, allant de 5x à 100x pour toutes les paires. Une fois que vous avez sélectionné l'effet de levier de votre choix, vous pouvez saisir la taille de votre ordre. Notez que la taille de l'ordre que vous saisissez a déjà un effet de levier, ce qui signifie que l'effet de levier que vous avez sélectionné ci-dessus est déjà pris en compte dans le trade.

Marge croisée ou marge isolée. Que choisir ?

La marge croisée et la marge isolée comportent des avantages et des inconvénients différents qui varient en fonction de la stratégie de trading employée par l'utilisateur. De manière générale, la marge croisée est une approche simple qui peut être utilisée par les traders débutants ou par ceux qui cherchent à compenser des pertes non réalisées par des gains non réalisés. La marge isolée, quant à elle, offre aux traders un degré de contrôle bien plus important sur le montant du risque auquel ils sont exposés. Il est très important de savoir choisir correctement entre marge croisée et marge isolée au moment de mettre en œuvre différentes stratégies de trading.

Marge croiséeIsolated Margin
Offre une approche holistique de la marge
Définit la marge individuelle de chaque position ouverte
Peut augmenter la probabilité de liquider la totalité du solde du compte d'un trader
Réduit le risque de liquidation du solde du compte
Offre une gestion simple de la marge
Nécessite une gestion continue
Convient aux débutants
Adapté aux transactions spéculatives avec un effet de levier élevé
Marge croisée
Offre une approche holistique de la marge
Peut augmenter la probabilité de liquider la totalité du solde du compte d'un trader
Offre une gestion simple de la marge
Convient aux débutants
Isolated Margin
Définit la marge individuelle de chaque position ouverte
Réduit le risque de liquidation du solde du compte
Nécessite une gestion continue
Adapté aux transactions spéculatives avec un effet de levier élevé
alt

Choisir le bon effet de levier

L'effet de levier réel d'une position ouverte avec marge croisée par rapport à une marge isolée peut être calculé en comparant la perte maximale possible d'une position par rapport à la valeur de la position du trader. Dans le cas d'une position avec marge croisée et des gains non réalisés, par exemple, l'effet de levier réel est égal à la valeur de la position divisée par la marge de position combinée au solde disponible du trader et au profit non réalisé. Les positions avec marge croisée peuvent transférer les pertes sur l'ensemble du solde d'un trader. Dans le cas d'une position avec marge croiséeet des pertes non réalisées, l'effet de levier réel est égal à la valeur de la position divisée par la marge de position combinée au solde disponible. Un effet de levier réel plus élevé augmente le risque de liquidation, car la plage de prix de liquidation est plus proche du prix de marché.

FAQ

Qu'est-ce que la marge croisée ?

La marge croisée partage la totalité du solde disponible sur le compte d'un trader avec toutes les positions ouvertes sur ce même compte. Le compte d'un trader est correctement couvert si les exigences de marge collective de toutes les positions ouvertes sont inférieures au solde disponible du trader.

Qu'est-ce qu'une marge isolée ?

La marge isolée permet aux traders de définir une marge individuelle pour chaque position ouverte individuelle. Un trader qui ouvre une position isolée doit allouer une marge à la position qui est égale ou supérieure à la marge initiale.

Quelle est la différence entre une marge croisée et une marge isolée ?

La marge croisée utilise l'ensemble du solde du compte d'un trader pour maintenir une marge sur toutes les positions ouvertes, tandis que la marge isolée crée des pools de marge séparés pour chaque position ouverte.

Mieux vaut-il utiliser une marge croisée ou isolée ?

La marge croisée convient aux débutants ou aux traders qui cherchent à couvrir des positions existantes, mais elle peut entraîner la perte totale du solde. La marge isolée convient aux traders qui cherchent à mieux contrôler les exigences de marge ou à minimiser le risque de perte du solde total.

Cross Margin Versus Isolated Margin

Trade on the anonymous user-friendly platform with no hidden commissions

What is margin in crypto trading and how does it relate to leverage?

When trading with leverage, the term “margin” refers to the amount of capital required to enter a leveraged position. Initial margin refers to the minimum amount of margin required to enter a leveraged position, while maintenance margin refers to the amount required to prevent a position from being liquidated.

Cryptocurrency traders use different strategies when tradingwith margin — Margex provides traders with two margining methods that offer different advantages and disadvantages:

Isolated margin restricts the margin for a position to a dedicated margin pool defined by the trader. Should the margin fall below the maintenance margin level required to maintain an open position, the position will be liquidated.

Cross margin shares margin between all open positions that use the same settlement asset. Should a position require more margin, it will be drawn from the total balance of the relevant asset to prevent liquidation.

Understanding how each of these margining methods worksand how they differ from each other can assist traders in preventing the liquidation of open positions and promote more efficient use of trading capital.

How profit changes with leverage in the conditions cross margin trading

How much of your capital is used in the trade
Leverage used in the trade
1%
Price change*
3%
Price change*
5%
Price change*
10%
Price change*
20%
Price change*
Profit with leverage
Profit without leverage

Enter Crypto Markets

Margex is a Bitcoin-based derivatives trading platform that provides traders with the ability to trade up to 100x leverage across multiple global crypto markets. Offering a highly user-friendly interface and best-in-class trading features, Margex is ranked as one of the best crypto margin trading exchanges online by Finance Magnates.

User Convenience in Every Aspect

Margex delivers simplified, easy-to-understand trading features that cater to novice and expert traders alike, with robust charting tools and clearly defined transparent fee structures. Trading on Margex provides traders with a high degree of visibility, as well as ROE tools that give an indication of the profitability of all trades.

Everything at a Glance

Transparency and clearly-defined analytics are heavily emphasized on Margex — all deal indicators, such as trading fees, financing, and PnL are delivered on-screen in real-time for all positions. Importantly, it’s possible to modify margin on open trades on Margex, as well as take advantage of simultaneous stop loss and take profit tools on a trade-by-trade basis.

Cross and Isolated in a Single Account

Unlike other trading platforms that require you to open separate accounts for different margin and collateral methods used in trades, Margex solves the cross margin vs. isolated margin debate by allowing platform users to use both methods in one account, from one trading terminal, which is convenient when trading.

Multilaterals Enabled

Collateral options on Margex include BTC, USDT, and ETH, as well as USDC, DAI, USDDP, Tron, and WBTC. It’s possible to trade any pair on Margex with any collateral, eliminating the need to swap assets. Lastly, Margex’s unique MP Shield technology leverages advanced artificial intelligence to protect users from price manipulation and prevent unfair liquidation.

Why Margex

alt
alt

What is Cross Margin?

Cross margin, sometimes referred to as “spread margin,” shares the available balance of an asset across all relevant open leveraged positions in a trader’s account. The funds available in a trader’s available balance are used to avoid liquidation in open positions with the same settlement asset. Within the context of cross margin, an account is sufficiently margined if the collective maintenance margin requirements of all open positionsare lower than the available balance.

alt

Cross Margin Example

A trader with 0.1 BTC may choose to open a long (buy) cross margin position on BTC/USD at a price of $10,000/BTC, for 1 BTC. The initial margin requirements of this position is calculated usingthe maximum permissible leverage for the trading pair using cross margin, placing the initial margin requirement at 1% of 1 BTC. The trader will, therefore, need to stake 0.01 BTC in initial marginin order to open the position. Should the price of Bitcoin decline, the initial margin of the traderwill also decline. A cross margin position will draw from the total balance of the trader — in this case, 0.1 BTC — as additional margin.This practice allows traders to utilize the totality of their available funds to avoid liquidation

Pros and Cons of Cross Margin

ProsCons
Cross margin can be used to offset unrealized losses with unrealized profits, minimizing the probability of position liquidation
Cross margin places the entire available balance of a trader at risk — in the case of significant adverse market movements a trader may lose their entire balance should the market price of an asset challenge liquidation level
Cross margin reduces the overall probability of liquidation by taking a holistic approach to margin
Cross margin provides traders with less control over specific positions. Traders seeking to manage a position on an individual basis may use isolated margin to gain a greater degree of control
Cross margin is useful for traders seeking to hedge existing positions
Traders seeking to manage a position on an individual basis may use isolated margin to gain a greater degree of control
Pros
Cross margin can be used to offset unrealized losses with unrealized profits, minimizing the probability of position liquidation
Cross margin reduces the overall probability of liquidation by taking a holistic approach to margin
Cross margin is useful for traders seeking to hedge existing positions
Cons
Cross margin places the entire available balance of a trader at risk — in the case of significant adverse market movements a trader may lose their entire balance should the market price of an asset challenge liquidation level
Cross margin provides traders with less control over specific positions. Traders seeking to manage a position on an individual basis may use isolated margin to gain a greater degree of control
Traders seeking to manage a position on an individual basis may use isolated margin to gain a greater degree of control

Trading With Cross Margin on Margex

1

Open a Margex trading account

Go to Margex.com and click "Start Trading," then enter your personal information on the registration page.
2

Confirm your email

A confirmation email will be sent to your email address. Once you have successfully confirmed it, you can log in to your account.
3

Fund your trading account

Go to your account's "Wallet" page and fund your account using your preferred deposit method, such as cryptocurrency or direct credit card deposits.
4

Trade with Cross Margin

Go to the "Trade" page, select the pair you are going to trade from the list and after entering your preferred order size in the order submission window, go to the leverage slider and drag it all the way to the left where it is marked as cross margin, or just use the button.

What is Isolated Margin?

Isolated margin dedicates margin on an individual basis to each open position. A trader that opens a position with isolated margin must allocate a specific amountof margin either equal or greater to the initial margin required to open the position. In the context of isolated margin, the margin allocated by a trader to open a position is referred to as a position margin. Profit or loss generated by a position opened with isolated margin does not impact any other open positions. Isolated margin limits the liability of an open position to the initial margin defined by the trader. Unlike cross margin, any available balance available to a traderis not used to balance the margin of an open position.

alt

Isolated Margin Example

A trader may choose to open a long BTC/USD position with BTC price of $10,000. The total balance held on Margex by the traderis 0.01 BTC, so the trader opens an isolated margin BTC/USD position for 1 BTC with 100x leverage. The initial margin required to open the trade must be staked in order to open the position — unlike cross margin, however, the trader defines the margin balance they would like to assign to the positionby either increasing or decreasing the leverage used in the trade. Should the price of Bitcoin decline to a value that would liquidate the position, the position will be automatically liquidated as an isolated margin position will not draw more funds from the total balanceof the trader in order to keep the margin requirementsof the position afloat. In this case, the trader must manage the amount of margin assigned to an open position but only risks the initial margin assigned when opening the position, not their entire account balance.

Pros and Cons of Isolated Margin

ProsCons
Isolated margin provides traders with a greater degree of control over individual traders and is suitable for speculative trades opened with high leverage
If unrealized losses reduce the position margin of an isolated margin position, the position will be liquidated regardless of the total balance of a trader’s account
While isolated margin positions expose traders to higher liquidation risk, only the position margin defined by the trader is exposed to risk — not the trader’s entire account balance
Isolated margin positions expose traders to higher liquidation risk
The isolated margin amount for an open position can be managed — a trader can prevent liquidation by allocating additional margin
Isolated margin positions must be carefully managed
Pros
Isolated margin provides traders with a greater degree of control over individual traders and is suitable for speculative trades opened with high leverage
While isolated margin positions expose traders to higher liquidation risk, only the position margin defined by the trader is exposed to risk — not the trader’s entire account balance
The isolated margin amount for an open position can be managed — a trader can prevent liquidation by allocating additional margin
Cons
If unrealized losses reduce the position margin of an isolated margin position, the position will be liquidated regardless of the total balance of a trader’s account
Isolated margin positions expose traders to higher liquidation risk
Isolated margin positions must be carefully managed

Trading With Isolated Margin on Margex

To open a trade using isolated margin, you need to go to your Margex trading account, select the pair you will trade, go to the leverage slider and drag it to select the preferred leverage for the trade. You can also use the small pen next to the slider to manually enter your preferred margin on the trade, ranging from 5x to 100x for all pairs. Once you select your preferred leverage, you can enter your order size. Note that the order size you enter is already leveraged, meaning that the leverage you selected above is already accounted for in the trade.

Cross Margin vs. Isolated Margin. What to choose?

Cross margin and isolated margin offer different advantages and disadvantages that vary based on the trading strategy employed by the user. In general terms, cross margin is a straightforward approach that can be employed by novice traders or traders seeking to offset unrealized losses with unrealized profits, while isolated margin provides traders with a far greater degree of control over the amount of risk they are exposed to.

Cross MarginIsolated Margin
Offers a holistic approach to margin
Defines individual margin for each open position
Can increase the probability of liquidating entire the account balance of a trader
Reduces the risk of account balance liquidation
Offers simple margin management
Requires ongoing management
Suitable for novice traders
Suitable for speculative trades with high leverage
Cross Margin
Offers a holistic approach to margin
Can increase the probability of liquidating entire the account balance of a trader
Offers simple margin management
Suitable for novice traders
Isolated Margin
Defines individual margin for each open position
Reduces the risk of account balance liquidation
Requires ongoing management
Suitable for speculative trades with high leverage
alt

Сhoosing the right leverage

The effective leverage of an open position in cross margin vs. isolated margin can be calculated by comparing the maximum possible loss of a position compared to the value of the trader’s position. In the case of a cross margin position with unrealized profit, for example, the effective leverage is equal to the position value divided by the position margin combined with the trader’s available balance and unrealized profit. Cross margin positions can transfer loss across a trader’s entire balance. In the case of a cross margin position with unrealized loss, the effective leverage is equal to the position value divided by the position margin combined with the available balance. Higher effective leverage increases the risk of liquidation, as the liquidation price range closer to the mark price.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is cross margin?

Cross margin shares the entire available balance of a trader’s account across all open positions in the account. A trader’s account is adequately margined if the collective margin requirements of all open positions are lower than the trader’s available balance.

What is isolated margin?

Isolated margin allows traders to define an individual margin for each individual open position. A trader that opens an isolated position must allocate margin to the position that is equal to or greater to the initial margin.

What is the difference between cross margin and isolated margin?

Cross margin draws from the entire balance of a trader’s account to maintain margin across all open positions, while isolated margin creates separate pools of margin for each open position.

Is it better to use a cross or isolated margin?

Cross margin is suitable for novice traders or traders seeking to hedge existing positions but can increase the likelihood of entire balance loss. Isolated margin is suitable for traders seeking to gain greater control over margin requirements or minimize the risk of entire balance loss.